Dear Rotarians and Friends,
 
Our meeting last Friday continued our highly successful run of brilliant Guest Speakers.  Our thanks are due to Nicola, who devotes a huge chunk of time each week sourcing, scheduling, organising and preparing speakers.  This is no mean task, and Nicola does it with aplomb.  Last Friday’s guest was Colleen Hayward, who emphasized the need for informed and sensitive progress in understanding and appreciating both aboriginal and Western cultures and the importance of drawing on the heritage and achievements that both have to offer.
 
 
We have a loyal band of Rotarians and friends of Rotary at present stationed in far off places overseas, who stayed tuned to our comings and goings.  We thank them for their continuing interest.  Especially we acknowledge Katrin Zellwenger in Switzerland, Valerie Fricker-Hampton in England, Ray Della Polina in Bali (actually he is currently on a mission to recruit for the Eagles), and Bill Bryden, a UK Rotarian who usually visits Perth each December for our Christmas Breakfast. I understand the Breakfast is his main reason for his annual pilgrimage to Australia. Let’s hope his plans for the year are not thwarted by Covidity.
 
And, of course, we continue our congratulations for Darren, our latest Paul Harris Fellow Extraordinaire.  He understands modern technology and ensures our Club is always at the cutting edge of the latest computer intricacies.  Speaking of cutting edges, you’ll be reassured to learn I have just purchased a new bottle of Waterman’s ink.  Black.  Cutting edge.  In its own way.
 
This Friday Richard Offen is our speaker. He will be looking at the wonderful, beautiful, charming, iconic buildings in the city which were destroyed to make way for edifices that may well appeal to some but might leave others querying their artistic value.  (Note a strong personal bias here and a warning that my views are not shared by all.)
The great thing is that Richard will put all these thoughts in perspective as he takes us through the city’s building development over the last hundred years or so.
 
 
 
Do be sure to join us and feel very free to invite as your guests those who also might like to hear this presentation.
 
John.
 
 
 
 
John.
 
 
PERTH ROTARY 2021/22 BOARD EMAIL - Our Next Board Meeting – Monday 12 July 2021
 
President:   Rev Dr John Shepherd AM    president@rotaryperth.org.au ;  john.h.shepherd@bigpond.com
Past President:         Jill Dawson              pastpresident@rotaryperth.org.au 
President Elect:        Maree Gooch           maree@valuecreators.com.au 
Treasurer:                  Joseph Wambua      treasurer@rotaryperth.org.au
Secretary:                  Jacques Phillips      secretary@rotaryperth.org.au
Rotary Foundation   Emma Cork              ecork@hphsolutions.com.au
Club Service:           Darren Perera           clubservice@rotaryperth.org.au
Fellowship Chair:    Jo Morris                  fellowship@rotaryperth.org.au     
Media Chair              Barry Thornton       barrythornton@hotmail.com
Speaker Program     Nicola Johnston       programmechair@rotaryperth.org.au
Membership             Jill Dawson              membership@rotaryperth.org.au
Vocational                 Jonas Edner             vocational@rotaryperth.org.au
Community               David Wee                community@rotaryperth.org.au
International             Wesley Sim               international@rotaryperth.org.au
Youth                        Manu Gupta              youth@rotaryperth.org.au
Sponsors